Quick Answer: What Does Hiding A Post On Your Timeline Do?

What does it mean when something is hidden from your timeline?

This means that anything you post using the new “Hide From Your Timeline” feature will appear only in the News Feed, and not directly on your profile page.

Statuses you post using this feature will, however, still be visible in search results.

Just, y’know, something to keep in mind..

How can you tell if someone hides your posts on Facebook?

How can I tell if a friend has restricted me from seeing their posts? The only way you can tell for sure is to ask someone else if they can see any posts from that person. If they can see posts that you can’t, then you’ll know that person has blocked you from seeing their posts.

Does someone know if you hide their post from your timeline?

If you hide a post from your Timeline, your friend will not be notified that you hid the post.

When someone posts on your timeline who sees it?

1 Answer. If you post directly on their timeline, they control the privacy setting. They have just one setting for all posts that others post on their timeline. If they have it set to Friends, then only their friends will be able to see it.

What happens when you hide a photo from your timeline?

When you select Hide, you’ll see a message confirming, “This post is now hidden from your timeline.” You won’t see the post on your timeline again. If you choose Cancel instead, the post remains unchanged.

What is the difference between hide from timeline and delete?

So what’s the difference between deleting and hiding a story from my Timeline? Deleting stories: Deleting a story will remove it from your Timeline and from Facebook entirely. … Hiding stories: Hiding a story will remove it from your Timeline, but it will still show in the News Feed and possibly the Ticker.

Can someone see if you hide their post?

To hide a comment, hover over the top-right hand “x” and click “Hide.” Now the post can only be seen by the person who wrote the comment and his or her friends. They’ll have no idea the post is hidden, and you can always click “Unhide” later if you like.

How can you tell if someone is hiding something from you?

Here are 11 telltale signs that your friend is hiding something from you:You Have A Gut Feeling. … You Hear Gossip. … Your Other Friends All Feel The Same Way. … They React Strongly To Things That Aren’t A Big Deal. … They Get Unusually Quiet About Certain Topics. … They Avoid Seeing You. … They Don’t Make Eye Contact.More items…•

How do I see all my birthday posts on my timeline?

You can find your birthday messages in your Activity Log. To view your activity log: 1- Click in the top-right corner of any Facebook page. 2- Select Activity Log.

How do I remove something hidden from my timeline?

Click your profile picture in the top right of Facebook. Find the post and click in the top right. Select Delete post or Hide from timeline from the dropdown menu.

Can restricted friends see old posts?

If you’ve given your Facebook a privacy overhaul and you want to make sure your past posts aren’t seen by everyone and anyone, you can limit their visibility. This will automatically set all of your past posts to “Friends,” indicated by the icon with two people. … Select “See more privacy settings”

Can a restricted friend post on my timeline?

Putting someone on the Restricted list means that you’re still friends, but that you only share your posts with them when you choose Public as the audience, or when you tag them in the post. So if the posts on your Timeline are not set to Public, then your restricted friend will not be able to see your posts.

Can you hide posts from news feed?

You can also hide individual status updates from your news feed. Mouse over the update you want to hide to display the down arrow. Click the down arrow. Select Hide story.

Can restricted friends see when I’m Online?

Yes, someone on your Restricted list allows them to still see you on Facebook. Putting someone on the Restricted list means that you’re still friends, but that you only share your posts with them when you choose Public as the audience, or when you tag them in the post.

Can you hide someone’s posts on Facebook without them knowing?

Tap a friend’s name in your friends list or on a post of theirs in your News Feed, tap the Friends button, then tap Take a Break. Under the Limit What [name of friend] Will See section, tap See Options, then tap “Hide your posts from [name of friend].” Doing so will put the friend on your Restricted list.

What happens when you hide a post from your timeline?

Clicking the “Hide from Timeline” or “Hide from Page” button immediately removes the selected story, photo or update from view. However, using the hide feature doesn’t delete the item completely; the hidden story will still appear in other places on Facebook, including news feeds and in search results.

How do you show something on your timeline after you hide it?

On the Activity Log page, tap “Category” at the top of the page and scroll to choose “Hidden From Timeline.” 5. After the page refreshes, find the post you want to unhide and tap the downward pointing arrow to the right. Tap “Show on Timeline.”

How do I see posts hidden from friends on Facebook timeline?

Type in “Posts from [your friend’s name].” Facebook’s search box is capable of finding different messages and comments posted by your friends, even if they have been hidden from the timeline. Tap on a search result.

How do I hide posts on Facebook 2020?

To hide a post:Go to the post on your Page’s timeline.Click in the top-right corner.Select Hide from Timeline.

When someone hides you on Facebook what happens?

Regardless of whether you hide content posted to your Timeline or block someone, the person you hide from will never receive a notification of your action. If you block a Facebook user, he will never come across your Timeline until you choose to undo it; it will appear as if you never had a Facebook account.